For the initiatives of investors, financial facilities, and financial service providers that support the transition of companies’ business models into sustainable ones and promote initiatives that have an impact on the environment, society, and the economy, as well as the initiatives of fundraisers who utilize the funding from companies, the ESG Finance Awards Japan (hereinafter referred to as “the Awards” will evaluate/award leading organizations and cutting-edge initiatives from a comprehensive view, regardless of the scale of an organization, and share them with the wider society. The Awards are intended to lead to the further promotion and expansion of ESG finance, as well as to increasing the quality of ESG finance.

Award Categories

Award Categories : (1) Investors Category, (2) Indirect Financing Category, (3) Fundraisers Category, (4) Financial Services Category, (5) Environment Sustanable Category

(Reference) Logo

(Reference) Logo)

Eligible Idividuals

  • Asset owners, asset managers, banks, credit unions, credit associations, agriculture and forestry financial institutions, leasing companies, credit guarantee associations, issuers/borrowers of green bonds/loans, securities companies, insurance companies, rating agencies, information services/infrastructure providers, etc. (Awards Categories 1, 2, 3, and 4.)
  • All listed companies, and unlisted companies above a certain size.(Awards Categories 5.)

Types of Awards

The Gold Prize and the Silver Prize will be awarded as the Minister of the Environment Awards, and the Bronze Prize and the Special Award will be awarded as the Selection Committee Chairman Awards.


[Application period]

  • From September 8 to October 20, 2023, by 17:00 (JST)(Awards Categories 1, 2, 3, and 4.)
  • From September 8 to October 27, 2023, by 17:00 (JST)(Awards Categories 5.)

Related Links